Highly Sensitive People

Are you a Highly Sensitive Person (HSP)? I think many of the people involved in tarot are. It is a generalisation, and not everyone who is exploring tarot is, though from my own observations quite a few practitioners are.

I had no clue the qualities inherent in my nature had been explored in psychology, let alone defined in an actual category. A friend hinted at this a couple of years ago, and last week my partner actually brought home this book from the library. There is a self-test you can take here to see if you are a HSP.

I thought I would do a three card spread to give me more insight into the HSP personality, but as I was shuffling one card just flew right out. The Queen of Cups, and what better description is there in the tarot than this Queen as a HSP? I think all the Cups court cards are HSP yet the Queen in particular would define this personality very well.

With an extremely rich inner life, the Queen of Cups has a deeply nurturing and insightful awareness of human feelings, and she is sensitive to her surrounding environment. In the Golden Tarot, she is holding a book and a quill, and to me these speak of the ability to contemplate and penetrate the inner life of an artist, a writer and composer. The two doves are symbolic of nurturing, love and peace. Doves mate for life, so they also stand for loyalty – and this is also reflected in the Scorpion. Astrologically, Scorpio is known for loyalty, intensity, determination, deep emotional inner worlds and also secretive nature (her book is closed).

“What is most important is that she joins consciousness to feeling. She knows what she wants and will take the steps necessary to get it. Yet she always acts with an awareness of love.” Rachel Pollack – Seventy Eight Degrees of Wisdom

Many blessings,
Monica

6 thoughts on “Highly Sensitive People

  1. Magic Mentha October 14, 2011 / 7:51 pm

    Great post! I got a recommendation for this book several years ago via my then-counselor. It’s a good book. Definitely gets you thinking. I think there are a lot of people out there, particularly emotive, creative types, that get mislabeled simply due to their sensitivity. They think they need to be ‘fixed’…

    Anyway, this book is on my bathroom shelf right now.

    I hope you have a swell one.

    Hugs,
    MM

    • Monica October 15, 2011 / 4:31 pm

      No way! Heh, what do you know. You have a bookshelf in your bathroom?🙂 now that’s way cool.

      It’s been a good read though I’ve only just started. Hope all is well with the house mayhem. Blessings.

  2. Prince Le Normand October 14, 2011 / 9:16 pm

    I’m kind of funny in that sometimes I take things on the chin and don’t finch, but on others, someone only has to react to me a little negatively and I can feel myself welling up inside with emotion. I’d say that the latter is more of the real me, so yes, I’m definitely a HSP. I seem to have become more so as I have gotten older.

    PLN

    • Monica October 15, 2011 / 4:35 pm

      Hello PLN,

      Yes I relate. I guess it depends on who is making the comments. I am more moved by beautiful scenes in nature and artwork. Killing of sensitivity just to “adapt” to other people’s lack of it is a disservice to our human essence. Blessings.

  3. woley October 15, 2011 / 4:12 am

    Back in June of 2005, an artist friend of mine from South Africa sent me the Robert Genn letter for that week:
    http://clicks.robertgenn.com/letters/2005/robert_genn_letter_050628.htm

    It was titled “Highly Sensitive Persons”, and I printed it out because it struck me so deeply–I am just this way. The thing about noise bothering me, the way I get frazzled and feel like an outsider, the keen imagination–it all fits me.

    I like that he talks about a “philosophic balance” that comes from a like-minded community.

    PLN and I often talk about how the world got better for us away from tarot forums, because we could be ourselves and explore our card collections as we felt like without having some nutcase swoop in on us, and a mindless gang of bullies jump in and start biting.

    We didn’t need to be fixed, we needed our own community!

    • Monica October 15, 2011 / 4:52 pm

      Gosh what a spot-on letter! I have not joined a tarot forum and to be honest am quite happy to do my own thingee… But since I also want to practice and continue reading in a more public role, I’ve had the challenge of having not so sensitive people see me for a reading. I think my background working as an engineer helps since I’ve acquired the skills (or flexibility?) to be around different people, but then I’ve also moved away from that in the last couple of years.

      Thankfully one of the good things about the modern world is the ability to meet like minded people online and easily remove ourselves from those we have no affinity with. Happy blogging! Many blessings.

Leave a Reply

