Alfresco style

It’s spring. Flowers are in bloom, trees are showing off the brightest green – oaks are my favourite at this time. I decided to head out and find a natural background for yesterday’s three card draw.

This spread is about focus. At least that is what it says to me. It is misleading to think our character in The Chariot has focus. If he did, both his oxen would be heading the same direction, but so far the black one is heading off on a different path. The story continues in the next card, where he is now riding a white horse. It seems to me he has chosen one animal, one path, and is on a definitive course here.The King of Swords is guided by three birds – they remind me of the crows I see and hear everywhere in Melbourne.

The last card stands apart from the previous two. In following with the Toth style, this deck has the Kings riding horses, and the Princesses take the place of Pages. The Princess of Pentacles is pregnant, symbolising growth and development, the future birth of some project or endeavour. She is looking at ten flowers in front of her, 9 of which are against the sky (yellow background) and one on the earth or grass background (green). There is a beautiful simplicity in this card yet you could peel off quite a few layers within it.

This was not a random draw – I used a three card spread from The Tarot Bible with the following questions:
1. The root of the problem
2. How to deal with it
3. Resolution

I would say in this instance the Sun and Moon is rather easy and so useful in giving an uncluttered and instant answer that doesn’t need too much detailing, which is what I was after. I don’t actually have a serious problem as such, but was interested in some information on being more effective with my job search – I think the answer is pretty clear.

Many blessings,

Monica

6 thoughts on “Alfresco style

  1. Magic Mentha October 8, 2011 / 1:28 am

    I agree, it does seem fairly straightforward. I definitely see the Page of Pentacles as representing a new work endeavor. Sometimes a new study or apprenticeship, but it doesn’t have to be that literal…unless it is?

    Hugs to you,
    MM

    • Monica October 8, 2011 / 12:15 pm

      Hi Mentha, I try to just take the outcome as shown on the card and not “translating” it into the Rider Waite though I’m so used to the RW interpretations. So I’m not actually looking at study as such, though I’m also not planning on getting pregnant either ha ha!

      But I see myself as coming to some satisfactory resolution in the last card, and that is a good sign. Blessings.

  2. Sharyn/AJ October 8, 2011 / 3:01 am

    Lovely draw…all looking to the future~

    • Monica October 8, 2011 / 12:17 pm

      Thank you Sharyn – indeed! Love the sense of stablity I get with the last card after the movement of the previous two. Blessings.

  3. Digital Dame October 8, 2011 / 8:02 am

    I like how the charioteer seems to have chosen the path the white ox wants to take, and finds himself mounted on the snowy charger. Definitely after something.

    Love how you did this outdoors, enjoy the beautiful weather! Rains are starting here.

    • Monica October 8, 2011 / 12:22 pm

      Yes I thought exactly the same thing – choosing the white one and going forward with it. Rather good advice there (and sometimes advice is a great thing!)

      With the weather getting warmer and the gardens a two minute walk away, I may do a few more outdoors shots, though there is rain coming our way too but so far it doesn’t compare with the real rains in New Zealand. Hope you’re keeping dry! Blessings.

Leave a Reply

