Turning around

This morning’s draw took me a while to unfold. I’ve been keeping up my daily morning yoga practice, and it’s beginning to show, although not in any specific physical appearance but rather in subtle ways like actually feeling my spine and having a more centered and focused attitude. I must say the best part of it is the three card draw I do afterwards🙂

Looking at the first card, I see myself carefully examining my options with regards to work. The Prince here is the equivalent of the Knight of Pentacles – slow, methodical, prudent even. The LWB states “Taurus indicates structure. The globe signifies exploring new directions.” This is exactly where I am at. Nothing is rushed or hurried with this card.

The 8 of Cups is a really interesting version. If you look at this card closely, you see a person standing on a pier, looking out to the vastness of the ocean in front of him, and possibly gazing at the moon. Unlike the traditional Rider Waite image, where the figure is moving up a mountain, our fellow here is faced with the choice of either diving into the ocean in front of him, with no distant shore in sight, or turning back to face and pick up his orderly cups. After I have contemplated the moon and the universe, it is time to turn back and make the most of what I have.

Speaking of the universe, in the last card we have Shiva, creator and destroyer. Completion of cycles. This card also relates to practical realities of life, for it is associated with Saturn – in this case, there are bound to be developments, endings and beginnings related to my pursuit of work. I finally feel like a whole way of life is ending, and I’m ready to start fresh. From the LWB: “the infant personifies the undeveloped self that may be holding us back.”

On a lighter note, I included a pic of the incense I bought yesterday from the Theosophical Shop. It’s the best shop I’ve come across and I doubt I’ll find another to match. There is an extensive and in-depth range of astrology books, tarot books, tarot decks, yoga and meditation books, CDs, buddhist philosophy, magic, witchcraft, herbalism, crystals, goddess mythology, nutrition and it just goes on and on. They even have natural soaps and candles so I spent a couple of hours with my eyes popping out of my head like a snail slowly walking up and down the isles.

Many blessings,
Monica

Before enlightenment – chop wood, carry water. After enlightenment – chop wood, carry water.” Buddhist proverb

9 thoughts on “Turning around

  1. Digital Dame October 1, 2011 / 8:17 am

    Great cards! And good for you for keeping up with your yoga practice. I love strolling around a metaphysical shop in Portland when I can, but haven’t been in for awhile now. Too tempting!!🙂

    • Monica October 2, 2011 / 1:32 pm

      He he🙂 I know what you mean, it will take a lot of willpower not to spend all my money on books once I actually work! I keep planning to have an actual library in my house one day😉 Blessings.

  2. woley October 2, 2011 / 2:28 am

    I remember looking at this deck and thinking “Meh, just a cutesy thing.”

    I think you are changing my mind. Shiva on the Universe is like icing on cake–I’ve always liked him–he and Ganesh like to dance.

    There is something compelling about the simplicity of it.

  3. woley October 2, 2011 / 2:46 am

    Me again…$11.67 CAD and free shipping from Book Depository. I ordered it.

    It reminds me a bit of Stella’s Tarot which I absolutely love. I was reading the thread at AT about the cardstock–I like heavy cardstock, makes no never mind to me–great for daily draws.

    Thanks for your thoughtfulness in examining the deck.

    • Monica October 2, 2011 / 1:36 pm

      Ah-ha, the Book Depository strikes again! (apparently it’s been bought by Amazon so hopefully the free shipping will last) I think you will enjoy it, from your comment above. It’s something different yet vey clear with straight answers in a reading. Blessings.

  4. Magic Mentha October 3, 2011 / 3:49 am

    Very nice and relevant reading. So strange. I thought I commented on this but it could’ve been my imagination.

    I’ve been getting the 8 of Cups, too. I hope you find some fantastic work opportunities that fit your interests and needs to a T.

    XO,
    MM

    • Monica October 3, 2011 / 8:05 pm

      Thank you🙂 I actually received a second comment in my email but not on the blog, strange huh. Thank you for the wishes regarding work search – will get there eventually! Blessings x

  5. Wendy October 3, 2011 / 4:05 pm

    Very nice blog. I found you by blog surfing. Keep up the great work! 🙂

    • Monica October 3, 2011 / 10:36 pm

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting. Many blessings.

Leave a Reply

