Sun and Moon Tarot Review

The Sun and Moon tarot is the creation of artist and illustrator Vanessa Decort. This deck came out last year and it soon made its way into my collection – I absolutely adore it. Despite my hesitation over Thoth inspired decks, this cutesy collection of dreadlock rasta men and women completely won me over.

I guess I have a slight bias towards its pictures due to my yoga interest and a recent past as a barefoot-green-grass-bright skirt-music festival lover. That aside, I’ve found this to be a deck that is extremely useful, giving instant insights. The main reason for this is the uncluttered and sometimes sparse drawings which allow the message to come forth easily – there’s no distraction over a thousand little details. And yet, the cards manage to incorporate astrology, alchemy, mythology and even yogic wisdom and symbology throughout.

The only part that bothers me about it are the titles. I’ve never warmed up to titles on cards (I’m not even a fan of borders) and this is especially frustrating when the choice of words is not the best – it’s a personal observation, yet I find it difficult to accept “Satiety” as the keyword for the 10 of Cups, “Failure” for 7 of Pentacles and so on. Despite this, I use these cards almost daily as I have found them so useful.

Published by US Games, the card stock is very sturdy, perhaps slightly on the rigid side. Personally, I prefer this texture over very thin heavily laminated cards, but I know it’s not everyone’s taste. A good LWB accompanies this deck, with insightful card descriptions.

For example, the Princess of Cups (below) explanation is “Earth of water. Dreamy ideas and romantic fantasy. Psychological development and perception. Rising above jealousy, manipulation, possession, and seduction. The turtle symbolizes truth. The lotus means spiritual awareness. The dolphin denotes powers of clairvoyance and embodies a free spirit.

I include a selection of cards from the deck below – I actually intend to use this deck for my morning three card draw over the next month so there will be a few images posted over the coming weeks.

Many blessings,
Monica


8 thoughts on “Sun and Moon Tarot Review

  1. Zanna Starr September 25, 2011 / 1:48 am

    Thank you for an insightful review, Monica! I feel as though I have a good sense of what this deck is like, and I think I would enjoy using it.

    • Monica September 25, 2011 / 1:06 pm

      Thank you! I’ve been meaning to do this one for a while and finally sat down and got it together. Really enjoy working with it, it is a fun deck yet does have a depth to it. Many blessings.

  2. Jason September 25, 2011 / 2:36 am

    Neat looking deck, and I enjoyed your review. Are the minor suits illustrated so that each uses predominant colors? I notice the swords here are mostly blue; and the pents are yellow and green.

    I like that Hermit card with the sanskrit. The words on cards wouldn’t bother me. They don’t phase me on the Thoth either. And I like the typeface they used in these pictures, for the lettering.

    Why do these cards resonate with you because of yoga? I see the Om in that Hermit, but I’m curious what other elements might appear along those lines.

    • Monica September 25, 2011 / 1:03 pm

      Hi Jason – yes the minor suits each have a predominant colour theme. The Wands have a maroon (brown) and dark (black) sky predominance, the Swords blue/white, Cups in green/blue and Pentacles green/yellow. I really like this as colour differentiation often helps my readings.

      I am working hard on not letting the titles bother me. It will take a while but I like this deck too much to let that bother me in the end. As for the yoga reference, it comes through in some cards via postures – eg 2 of Swords shown is a meditation yoga posture (not that I use it!) and the Hanged Man (tree pose, which I don’t do either ha ha). It may sound shallow, but the clothing characters wear reminds me of the yoga traveller/lifestyler (fisherman’s pants like in the 8 of Wands, the Sun etc). There are some other Hebrew symbols as well such as the Surya mandala in the Sun card, and in the World card we have Shiva with hand mudras (positions). Blessings.

  3. Digital Dame September 25, 2011 / 2:26 pm

    I love this deck, but haven’t had much chance to work with it yet. I’m not even sure what it is I love so much, the art just draws me in. I half-wish they would have left the borders black (which I believe they were on the early versions/prototype decks, Submerina shows them on her blog in several posts). I guess I’m used to the white now, though.

    I am a big fan of Crowley’s Thoth deck so the words on the cards don’t bother me (they’re the same keywords as on the Thoth deck). They’re only on the minors, not the Majors or the Courts, as well. If you haven’t read it yet, I recommend Lon Milo DuQuette’s book, “Understanding Aleister Crowley’s Thoth Tarot.” He really explains a lot and in a very accessible, humorous way. I think it would work equally well for this deck since it is based on Thoth.

    • Monica September 25, 2011 / 9:17 pm

      Hello, possibly black borders sound better. No borders would be ideal. I think the Thoth tarot is one of those it will take me a while to get into. Maybe I’m just not ready for the heavy Crowley influence, one day I can see myself diving into the deep with it. Thank you for the book tip though, I’ll keep an eye out for it.

      For now, I’ll just enjoy this lovely creation, I can almost hug it some days🙂 Blessings.

  4. Magic Mentha September 29, 2011 / 1:17 pm

    You made a good case for this deck, Monica.🙂 I may have to add it to a Most Wanted Tarot list. I’ll enjoy seeing your posts about it. I agree that the Thoth words turn me off. I think that’s why I could never get into the Thoth deck. Makes sense now!

    • Monica September 29, 2011 / 7:58 pm

      Happy to share🙂 Hah! The Most Wanted Tarot list – maybe if I actually owned a shop, it might diminish in size… Blessings xx

Leave a Reply

