Past, present and future


Today has been a very enjoyable slow day. I had a great day of readings on Sunday (phew!), followed by a very cold Monday at the Ceres Community Environment Park, where I was planting seedlings and doing general work in their propagation area. I returned there today to check out the local organic shop and food market – very impressive. While it is not a big place in terms of the variety of organic produce on offer (excluding fruit & veges), the shop emphasises recycling and waste minimization – for example, you bring your own bottles to put in oils and they charge for paper bags etc.

I love shopping at local food markets – organic produce is definitely more expensive but I try and support the practices and vision behind permaculture and organic agriculture as much as I can. It’s not even about what tastes better – personally, it’s about a way of living that nourishes and respects the fragile earth we walk on.

But I digress🙂

I did a quick three card past – present – future spread today using the Herbal Tarot – mainly to complement my new teapot (which cost me a whopping $2.80) and to reflect upon while brewing a good nettle/raspberry leaf infusion. So that’s me (King of Cups) with my teacup in the centre, resting after adventure and travel (Sun) and fondly remembering my trip to Romania. I love seeing the 4 of Wands for the near future – this card to me hints at future friendships (and summer!).

Fingers crossed the weather predictions come true – set for 25 degrees this weekend and no rain. Time to bring out the summer dresses and pick some flowers.

Blessings,
Monica

4 thoughts on “Past, present and future

  1. Magic Mentha September 15, 2011 / 4:37 am

    Hello Dahling,

    What a heartwarming spread and picture. I LOVE your aerial photos of tea and tarot cards. It really speaks to me. I also love the bargain teapot. That nettle and raspberry leaf tea sounds like a very fitting decoction for me today, too. I think the raspberry leaf in particular would be good because I am starting to feel the effects of PMS since I’m about a week out from my period.

    I’m also glad to hear that readings have been going well since that stressful early incident. I was concerned but you persevered and had some great experiences replace the stressful one so that’s the best thing you can do in that situation!

    I also try to buy local and organic most of the time, though it depends, also, on what I can afford, but most of the time I do. There’s a place called Door to Door Organics which I recently started getting. They have free delivery in my area and you can get a box (I’m getting the smallest size) of produce along with whatever items from their shop–like nut butters or baking needs, etc. And most of the companies are organic and local, too.

    Anyway. I am sleeeeepy today. It’s super drizzly and gray today but that’s OK. It feels right for the mood. I hope you are able to get out those dresses and embrace some nice weather.

    Hugs,
    MM

    • Monica September 15, 2011 / 1:13 pm

      Thank you! I’m so happy you enjoy my pics. I sometimes daydream of a Japan trip to learn the art of pouring tea and attend tea ceremonies.🙂 Until that happens, I’ll make do with my tiny teapot. Amen for herbal infusions, I’m with you on the reaspberry leaf front! Hope you have a soothing day. Blessings.

  2. Digital Dame September 15, 2011 / 11:45 am

    So cheery looking! It’s nice to support local farmers, and best to get produce directly from them rather than the so-called ‘organic’ section at the supermarket. I admit I don’t do a lot of shopping for local produce, I never seem to make it to the farmer’s markets on the weekends.

    Our weather is finally cooling down after some pretty high temps. I am very much looking forward to fall here, even though it means rain (and lots of it).

    • Monica September 15, 2011 / 1:16 pm

      Fits my spring mood, I reckon! I admit I have the luxury of not having a full time job, which is why I made it to the Wednesday morning market. There is another one on Saturday, but I thought I’d take advantage of a quieter week day. I hope my enthusiasm keeps going once I do work more and don’t have as much time to stroll around admiring fluffy chickens and flowers in bloom. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

