A tarot reading on tarot reading

The reading above is regarding my tarot reading work tomorrow at Spellbox. I’ve done this because last week I had a particularly disastrous reading  – to cut the story short, my first client requested a refund. I will go into that later – basically it was a bad reading for her and for me. Thank the lord it was not my first day! (though interestingly, all the other readings went great afterwards) This incident really cast a shadow on both my ability as a tarot reader and on my love for the work overall – but as some of the more experienced hands out there will say, such readings do teach you a lot. A lot.

Anyhow, I will reserve a detailed post on this incident for later – right now, the first three cards above answer the question “What will my tarot reading work be like tomorrow?” In a sense, each card can be seen as having a simple explanation:

  • 2 of Wands: me and the client, two people involved in an exchange
  • The High Priestess: my role, this is me as the tarot reader
  • The Sun: I read on Sundays. Literally, the day of the Sun is my regular reading day.

Looking at these cards with a different slant, I also gather my tarot readings will be highly intuitive (High Priestess), will bring energy and optimism (The Sun), and will also bring the rewards of planning and initial success (2 of Wands). The fourth card stands for the outcome of the day’s work – that’s me as the Queen of Cups, rather serene and composed – but also very red, I see.

I will take the energy and wisdom of these cards with me tomorrow, and I look forward to a busy day – with a full moon a day away, I’m sure there will be lots of activity and stories being told.

Many blessings,
Monica

10 thoughts on “A tarot reading on tarot reading

  1. Magic Mentha September 11, 2011 / 4:23 am

    Oh no!

    I’m sorry you had a stressful tarot reading! Hugs! I hope everything goes smoothly from now on. At least as much as possible.🙂

    Hugs,
    MM

    • Monica September 11, 2011 / 10:31 pm

      Ah, it’s ok. Aside from a blow to the Saggi ego, all is fine… I’ll keep on reading… Today was great and I am a happy reader.🙂 Blessings.

  2. Sharyn/AJ September 11, 2011 / 11:08 am

    I wish I could have watched this reading unfold. Maybe it would make me feel better about the first in person reading I did, what a disaster. I hyperventilated, shook like a junkie, mind went blank…I still shudder when I think of it. That taught me to practice reading aloud, in private🙂 Then tackle it again. At least you aren’t a beginner.
    All the best, Sharyn/AJ

    • Monica September 11, 2011 / 10:37 pm

      Well it was a combination of someone wanting me to tell her exactly what to do in life, but not defininig exactly what she wanted to start off with, and on my behalf I didn’t handle the answer as diplomatically as it could have been possible. Oh well. I smile reading about your first experience though (sorry!) – it reminds me of mine, my hands were shaking like two leafs in a hurricane… Blessings.

  3. KittyNoir504 September 11, 2011 / 12:35 pm

    I am so sorry you had such a situation! But I admire you so much for your courage to not let it shake your confidence. And I plan to learn from it!

    Blessings,
    Krysten

    • Monica September 11, 2011 / 10:38 pm

      Thank you Krysten – today was great and I look forward to many more to come🙂 Blessings.

  4. Ditto September 11, 2011 / 6:43 pm

    having the High Priestess and the Queen of cups would indicate you have highly developed intuition when it comes to the cards, and the High Priestess often tells the querant what they need to know… not what they want to hear. The sun is shining, but it can also cast a dark shadow, and it sounds like you were draw into that persons shadow world. Do you have a little protection ritual to do between readings? Why do the difficult readings remain with us long after we have forgotten the brilliant ones? As you say, a lesson here and growth.

  5. Monica September 11, 2011 / 10:46 pm

    Ahhh yes. Telling the Querent what they need to know vs what they want to hear – this whole topic will make a great blog post in the near future🙂 To be honest I don’t do a lot of protection work and I am aware it’s something I need to work on. Personally I think difficult readings linger on because it can be a blow to the ego, or because reading tarot is a passion and I wish everyone can understand how amazing it can be as a life aid – for growth, transformation, challenges and so on. And this particular Querent got zero out of it.

    On a different topic, hope astro night is going strong🙂 say Hi to everyone and I wish I was enjoying a hot cup of tea with you while contemplating the stars🙂 Blessings.

  6. Digital Dame September 12, 2011 / 1:08 pm

    Oh gosh, I think you’re brave to read publicly at all! Sorry you had such a bad experience. Some people have unreasonable expectations, and it’s also possible this person had been to some of those scam type readers who DO tell people what they want to hear, regardless of what the cards say. I was with a friend who got her cards read at a Saturday Market here in Portland once, and I could tell the reader wasn’t basing anything she said on the cards she pulled. I was within a breath of arguing with her, but let it go and talked with my friend about it later. So annoying.

    Hope things go better from now on!

    • Monica September 12, 2011 / 8:10 pm

      Yeah, it’s an odd “industry” – I think she really just wanted me to give her a definite yes or no and the cards I got and my intuition didn’t provide that answer, though I admit I didn’t get a positive outlook and could have worded my thoughts better. I definitely love doing tarot readings though – and I’m keeping in mind it’s still early days… Blessings.

Leave a Reply

