Choices

On the left we have a focus on tarot work or tarot related work. On the right we have professional employment. Now, I haven’t received any work offers on professional employment, but I haven’t really tried either. I should mention the question was, what should I focus my energies on – with regards to these two work options.

I know, I know, it’s not the most correctly worded question. Perhaps a better one might have been “What will be the outcome of focusing my energy on each of these options?” Sometimes, I just ask for a direct answer, and then cry out silly when it is not to my liking or understanding. In this instance, though, it’s rather obvious. I think that neither is good or bad – and each card simply portrays the role I would be fulfilling working in either area. The question is, how do I feel about each? What does my heart long for? What do my instincts tell me? I’ve blogged about her here before – it’s no mystery. Though, well, she is the High Priestess, so everything is a mystery! And she’s staring me right in the face.

I am currently reading Choosing Simplicity  – a delicious read about people who’ve chosen to change their lifestyles, “trim back the deadwood” as the author calls it, to simplify and return to a life less cluttered. So far the case studies covered are from America, though I think it could equally apply in New Zealand, Australia or Britain. I like the real-ness of it all, and the fact that I can relate to it – in particular the part about the false starts, the challenges, the struggle to find meaning in life, to de-clutter on every level, and the fact that it is a journey, often one that can take years. For some this meant leaving the city for the country. For others it meant leaving the country for the city. For a lot it meant leaving a high pressure job behind and adjusting to a simpler life. And everyone had to confront fear. It’s as if every dark thought comes out of its hiding place when one decides to turn away and walk a different path. Fear of what other people would think, what they would say, fear about money or lack of money, and so on. I mention this here because it reminded me of where I’ve come from, and it has inspired me to keep going and breathe deeply every day.

Many blessings,
Monica

6 thoughts on “Choices

  1. Shaheen Miro September 1, 2011 / 4:18 am

    I like this post a lot. The realness of it all. I remember reading on PLN blog about the queen of swords… and how she hides something because she only keeps one side of her face turned toward you. That always interested me. Here I think she holds a mystery as well… I would ask myself what am I hiding from myself… or what am I afraid to face right now? Those are always the most powerful things, usually our next path to follow. Thats what being a gypsy is… treading in uncharted territory because you know its what your soul needs. I think that there is something bigger coming for you, so don’t settle for one thing yet. I also think that the high priestess could symbolize a teacher… I vaguely remember thinking this before… so maybe there is some truth in that.

    Ooh and thanks for sharing this book title… I will have too look it up. Sounds like its about where I am right now.

    Much love… Shaheen xx

    • Monica September 1, 2011 / 10:36 pm

      Thank you for your thoughtful comments, Shaheen. I do have a soft spot for the High Priestess, what can I say… 🙂 If she stands for a teacher that’s fantastic too – I love being the eternal student, when it comes to tarot, astrology, yoga and all that’s fascinating in our world. Blessings.

  2. KittyNoir504 September 1, 2011 / 6:18 am

    This post is so perfect for me to be reading at this time in my life, and today in particular. I will have to get the book you mentioned as well. And the response Shaheen gave was also very insightful and helpful. I love her description of a “gypsy”. I’ve moved a LOT. Heck, I’m moving to a new place in the next day or two. I’d love to one day be moving to Australia, but for now it’s still in the states. But this definition of a gypsy relates to the High Priestess for me and makes me realize that I need to think of Her in the way Barbara Moore described her. This isn’t a direct quote, but she basically said that she is the wisdom we have that can only be gained from life experience. And to me that ties in with her calm yet direct stare. It’s like she’s reminding us we have the answers within, but we have to look at things from her eyes, the eyes of our intuition. Not through the eyes of fear and doubt. And the ways you spoke of trip me up more often than I probably even know. The HP is all about intuition and the QofSw is all about logic and being direct. I guess it’s getting the two of them to work together and not make us doubt what the other one has to offer.

    The other thing that strikes me about these two cards is that even though they are specifically for you, they apply to me today because I am so passionate about tarot and wanting to help others through professional tarot readings/healing (the HP) but I also am re-applying to be a flight attendant after a 5 year hiatus due to a back injury. As a matter of fact I am sending my resume’ off today. And the QofSw being the Queen of Air is a most auspicious sign!

    Blessings to you as well,
    Krysten

    • Monica September 1, 2011 / 10:40 pm

      Hello Krysten – and thank you for stopping by my blog. All the best with your application – I’ve never associated the Queen of Swords with the flight attendant – but there you go, tarot is so versatile and one never stops learning with it. Helps keep my mind rather flexible, I say. Blessings.

  3. Digital Dame September 1, 2011 / 10:34 am

    Major change like that, simplifying, pruning out what you don’t need and CHANGE like that is very scary. It’s so much easier to go with the flow, do what everyone else does, keep striving for more and more. To buck that trend and seek to simplify goes against everything society tells us. Very hard. But what a different world it would be if more people did that.

    • Monica September 1, 2011 / 10:43 pm

      Ah, what a difference indeed. It’s actually unimaginable. As in, I can’t imagine what the world would look like – all those millions – no, billions of people, making changes to simplify and find some meaning. The Age of Aquarius comes to mind 🙂 Blessings.

Leave a Reply

