Das Gluckskafer-Orakel

Hmmmm yes you read that right. Roughly translated as the Ladybug Oracle🙂 I’m not a big fan of oracle decks, but when I saw this little gem sitting all pretty in a window shop, it was love at first sight. In my first two days in Zürich I stumbled across two metaphysical shops, one crystal shop, and the witch’s lair. Bliss. Hence the German name of this deck – as far as I can tell, there is no English version. Which on one hand is a shame, because I cannot use the little book that accompanies it, yet at the same time is a bonus in disguise: it makes me read the card.

Ladybugs were rather omnipresent during my trip – oracle cards, vintage handkerchiefs, on the wildflowers in Romania. Rather pretty and most welcome, they are acknowledged throughout the world as a good luck omen, and there’s all sorts of folk tales surrounding their apparition. In this deck, they’re very adventurous and all over the place, though the overall feeling is one of abundance, nourishment, richness, and a cornucopia of fruits and flowers.

The only tricky issue is shuffling and dealing the cards – they are tiny. It’s like a miniature tarot deck of 40 cards, 4.2 by 6.8 cm. There are no titles for the cards, only a number in the bottom left corner, and minimal white borders. I’m not sure where you could get a copy of the deck, I note Tarot Garden has a listing but none in stock unfortunately. Personally, I think I’ll keep this deck as my “challenge” deck and use it to test my intuition or simply to give some positive vibes.


Many blessings,

Monica

9 thoughts on “Das Gluckskafer-Orakel

  1. Magic Mentha August 21, 2011 / 1:03 am

    This deck is stinking adorable! I can’t believe it. I’m not a huge lady bug fan (I’m not a lady bug foe, either) but there’s something super charming and vintage about these. They’re homey and cute and the scenes remind me of some sort of 70’s-80’s toy (Holly Hobbie? I have no idea)…

    I love small decks. I have a bit of an obsession with diminutive decks, so I would probably love that. But I can understand why they can be harder to see or use. I’m sure when I get farsighted as I get older I may not like small decks as much…

    • Monica August 21, 2011 / 1:24 pm

      Yes. that is exactly how I felt about it😉 Brightens up a dark day, I tell you! I’ll try and do a small spread and see what comes up… it will be interesting.

  2. Helen August 21, 2011 / 3:36 am

    Welcome back Monica! That deck is a very cool souvenir!🙂

    • Monica August 21, 2011 / 1:26 pm

      Thank you Helen! Yes it is the neatest find ever. Can’t stop looking at it. The day I see a ladybug in Melbourne the whole world will know (it’s currently end of winter…)

  3. Aj / Melia August 21, 2011 / 9:56 am

    I’m most envious! My son has a thing for ladybugs and it has spread to me like a virus. Maybe you could plug the German into a on-line translator? Share them as you can please!

    • Monica August 21, 2011 / 1:28 pm

      Ah, who doesn’t like them, eh?! At some stage I’ll check out the online translator, for now I’ll just keep starring at them and enjoy the wondurous feeling they give me. It’s like being a kid again🙂

  4. Digital Dame August 22, 2011 / 9:00 am

    That’s adorable! That would probably not be a regular reading deck for me, just one of those I’d pull out on occasion because I like to look at the pictures. Nothing wrong with that, I have a number of those😉 What a fun find! Sounds like Zürich was awesome.

  5. woley August 27, 2011 / 1:51 am

    Hey, you are back!!

    I love this deck too, it’s just the sort of thing I like.

    I also love the Secret Tarot that you used in your initial return post–one of my first decks and a favourite.

    If you like mini decks and need some playing cards, there are some wonderful patience-size playing cards out there.

Leave a Reply

