New beginnings…

Hello everyone!

Finally I am in Melbourne, after an epic journey to Romania. The past three months have been both challenging and beautiful, though I have thoroughly enjoyed spending time with my grandmother and learning more about her (what do you know, she used to read gypsy fortune cards in her youth…) It was hot, it was cold, there were rich people, there were poor people, there was pollution and there was clean air, fields of sunflowers, haystacks, chickens, horse-drawn carts, crowded cities and peasant fields, fast cars, bountiful fruit and vege markets, a lot of coffee drinking and rolling around fields of wildflowers…

So I am slowly getting over some severe lack of sleep and jet lag, starting to explore the city, and get the blog updated with the latest adventures. I must say I am happy to be down on the ground after 30 hours of flying, and getting grounded literally and metaphorically in daily life. I did a quick three card spread on what I need to know about this move using the mini Secret Tarot:

Secret Tarot

I think the 5 of Cups refers to me moving on, though reluctantly – I will so miss my friends and the tarot community in Auckland, not to mention the stunning West Coast beaches I love so dearly. Interestingly, in this version of the card, while the man looks sad and somewhat sombre, all five cups are upright. Which makes sense, because nothing was spilled and I do not feel I left behind loss, sorrow or regret – rather it was a choice based on a need to grow and seek other opportunities. The 5 being a number of change numerically, this card is also about the challenges associated with such changes.

I rather like the Empress in this deck – there’s a determined look about her, an inner strength, and her red cloak and dress – and hair! – speak of passion and fire. Action! If anyone knows what the figure on the Ace of Swords carving is, please do share. Slightly odd this one.

This has been a short post to get things going again, I plan on expanding once I recover my sleep and am settled in. Hope everyone is well and nourished, and I look forward to sharing my love and study of tarot with you again.

Many blessings,
Monica

 

 

10 thoughts on “New beginnings…

  1. Shaheen Miro August 19, 2011 / 12:42 am

    It is so wonderful to hear from you! I am glad you made it safely. It sounds like your time with your grandmother was amazing… though I am sure it was hard… you will cherish it all the more. I’ve been in London for 2 months now for an internship and it has honestly been one of the most difficult, beautiful and life changing experiences of my life. It makes you see who you are and what you can truly do. You will find you place in your new home and you will find what it is that you need to feed yours spirit. The cards you pulled are wonderful. I see an opportunity in this… I feel like you are going to undertake another learning experience… maybe you will study something with someone. I just see the Empress as a teacher… maybe a physical one or just your inner teacher. Who knows šŸ™‚

    Rest my friend… look forward to reading your new posts šŸ™‚

    • Sharyn August 19, 2011 / 3:17 am

      Welcome Home, nice to see you at the top of the sidebar rather than the bottom ~
      Sharyn

      • Monica August 19, 2011 / 1:47 pm

        Thank you Sharyn, look forward to checking out your daily card and words of wisdom from now on – gosh having no internet for long periods of time was a challenge (over 5 weeks at one time!) Blessings!

    • Monica August 19, 2011 / 1:43 pm

      Thank you Shaheen – it is so good to come back to my wee blog and be greeted by your wishes! I’ve been scrolling through your blog and was rather impressed with your craft fashion skills – amazing! Congratulations for making it and carrying through in London – big cities are tough. With regards to learning – I most definitely am interested in continuing with tarot and astrology, possibly yoga and herbs as well… we’ll see. Blessings to you.

  2. Digital Dame August 19, 2011 / 6:10 am

    Welcome back! Looking forward to hearing more about Romania and talking Tarot with you again! šŸ˜€ Great cards for the reading in your new home. Sure, there’s a sense of regret, but so much to look forward to, the future is pregnant (Empress) with potential! Look sharp, never know what’s about to start. No idea what that thing is, though.

    • Monica August 19, 2011 / 1:46 pm

      Thank you and blessings to you! It will take a while to sort out all that I’ve experienced in the last three months. And I’ll be keeping busy with getting around Melbourne and settling in… all part of my Wheel of Fortune year šŸ™‚

  3. Magic Mentha August 19, 2011 / 8:51 am

    Monica Dearie!

    It’s so lovely to see you online again. Your presence was surely missed.

    I’m excited for you with this new beginning, even though it’s definitely sad leaving old faces and gorgeous places behind.

    I love your interpretation of your draw. This deck is nice–I like it. I saw a mini version of it online for pretty cheap that i may have to get now!

    I hope you settle in nicely and things start well for you.

    Lots of Hugs,
    MM

    • Monica August 19, 2011 / 1:50 pm

      Hello Mentha! Thank you for your kind words – and I have to say I really missed the online tarot community. I’d like to actually get the full size Secret Tarot as I think it will have more of an impact -but the mini will do for now. Impulse buy in a shop in Zurich šŸ˜‰ Happy blogging xx

  4. Pip August 30, 2011 / 10:06 am

    You’re back! Woohoo!

    I’m glad you had such a wonderful trip and have such a great outlook on the changes in your life. šŸ™‚

    • Monica August 30, 2011 / 3:41 pm

      Thank you! Yes change is in the air this year, most definitely – it’s all very exciting though. Looking forward to sharing this experience/adventure with the world. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

