A reading inspired by the suit of Pentacles

Spread from Tarot Wisdom by Rachel Pollack

Another spread taken from Tarot Wisdom by Rachel Pollack. I should say this is a highly informative book on tarot, looking at the historical sources and interpretation for each card. It does however also have tarot spreads for each major arcana card, and 4 spreads based on the suits.

I did this spread at last month’s Tarot Guild meeting, and have decided to post it since the King of Cups keeps coming up in relation to work, vocation, and life purpose in general. I wanted a practical reading and chose the Vanessa Tarot, one of my favourites – modern, quirky, funny and rather feminist.

Vanessa Tarot

1. What is my true work
King of Cups: related to the arts and/or healing. Given my interest in tarot/astrology/yoga I’d say this is not far off. A field where empathy and understanding play a part is important.

2. What helps me to do it
The Devil: Oh dear. I had to pause here and wasn’t too sure what this meant, but one of the best things about the Tarot Guild meetings is when readings are done in groups, as my friend glanced at this card and said “remember this is the positive aspect of the Devil: grounding in materialism, acknowledging the shadow side and learning from it.”

3. What holds me back?
3 of Wands: Actually making the next step! I do have some anxiety about getting ‘out there’ and launching my boat.

4. What do I need to do overall?
The Hanged Man: let it go. It will happen, sooner or later. Relax and hang in there. Don’t actually do anything, for this is not a card of outward activity.

5. What action do I need to take right now?
The Emperor: once again my friend noted this is the organising principle, and it is about consolidating things. Given I am 6 days away from leaving, that’s spot on. I have to confess I am a major procrastinator and instead of cleaning out my cupboards, here I am posting tarot spreads🙂 So I’m off to move some furniture around and see how many decks I can squeeze into my luggage.

4 thoughts on “A reading inspired by the suit of Pentacles

  1. Shaheen Miro May 11, 2011 / 1:25 pm

    God I love this. Is the picture from the book?

  2. Monica May 11, 2011 / 1:37 pm

    Hi Shaheen, yes it is taken straight from the book. Highly recommended! Blessings, Monica.

  3. Magic Mentha May 12, 2011 / 5:57 am

    This is marvy.

    Here’s what I got:
    1. What is my true work?
    Strength

    2. What helps me to do it?
    Knave of Pentacles

    3. What holds me back?
    Ace of Wands

    4. What do I need to do overall?
    The Sun

    5. What action do I need to take right now?
    The Devil

    I think I need some time to analyze this pull!
    🙂

  4. Monica May 12, 2011 / 9:21 am

    Hmmmmm Number 1 is a bit tricky. I mainly think of Strength as a psychological quality. I thought maybe no 3 could be about your creative fire, but then it can’t be that since No 4 is the Sun and that is what you need to do (nice though!) So you’ll be dancing with the Devil a bit right now😉 Slightly perplexing to me too!

Leave a Reply

