Tea break

I have the most comforting memories as a child of my grandmother picking and drying linden blossom. I would often accompany her as she walked through the nearby park and streets and pick out the linden flowers. It is one of my favourite smells, and I recall getting home after school and entering the living room of my grandparents’ apartment to be greeted by a sweet aroma of aromatic flowers, neatly laid out on newspapers. What delight it was to discover a couple of streets in my neighbourhood planted with linden trees. Also known as lime trees, they make great street and park trees, and once in flower are a magnet for bees. I am careful not to pick from streets that are prone to heavy traffic, and luckily the neighbourhood I found these trees in is rather quiet and quaint.

Once again, I got out my Haindl deck during the recent full moon, and asked for a major that relates to linden blossom.

Haindl Tarot

Unfortunately, I have packed away all my herb books!! So I am left wondering of the relationship between the Hierophant and linden blossom. In fact I wonder if this is a personal one for me, since I associate these flowers, and the tea made out of them, with my grandmother – teaching and tradition come to mind here. I know that one of the uses of linden tea is to calm a nervous person, to aid with sleep and anxiety, but not much else beyond this.

To be honest, I often drink herbal teas just for the pleasure of it, rather than as a medical aid – although long-term, a little bit every day is sure to be the best medicine. I save the dried linden blossom for special nights in winter when it’s cold and miserable and all I want to do is curl up with the cat, or when I feel I have a cold coming on.

Given that autumn has truly arrived in New Zealand, I’m getting out my last jar of this lovely flower and carefully rationing it πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Tea break

  1. Shaheen Miro April 20, 2011 / 5:40 pm

    This is a very beautiful post. I love the wisdom of just asking the tarot to tell you which card relates to the herb. I have never used this flower before. I’m not sure if it grows where I am at. I love herbs very much… so it would be a nice one to try. Have you ever used the tarot to decide which herb you may need?

    Shaheen

    • Monica April 20, 2011 / 6:26 pm

      Thank you Shaheen. The linden or lime tree is common to both Europe and America. It’s latin name is Tilia cordata or Tilia americana. With the herbs that I use for tea, I ask for a major card that in some way relates to the herb or the flower. So it is not necessarily for medicinal use, it is more an intuitive process where I draw a major card (out of a full pack!) and then do some research and see what I come up with. There is an Herbal Tarot deck I use if I feel that I need some specific herbal aid, though I wouldn’t necessarily rely on it 100%.

  2. Digital Dame April 21, 2011 / 5:44 am

    A local organic herb company has a wonderful site if you want to check them out:

    Mountain Rose Herbs.

    They have a little info on the linden here. Didn’t see anything in their little write up that could hint at a connection with the Hierophant, though.

    • Monica April 21, 2011 / 9:50 am

      I love Mountain Rose herbs! I even ordered a few seeds from the a couple of years back though some didn’t make it past NZ customs 😦

      I like their following comments:
      One of the most radical is of Celtic origin that states that if you sit under the linden tree you will be cured of epilepsy. In Roman and German folklore, the linden tree is seen as the “tree of lovers”, and Polish folklore tells that the wood is good protection against both the evil eye and lightning.

      Nothing that makes me think of the Herophant directly either, but maybe I’m not meant to get it yet πŸ™‚

  3. Digital Dame April 21, 2011 / 11:29 am

    Yes, things aren’t always obvious to me right off, either. The only (tenuous, I admit) connection I could see at first was the bit about it warding off the evil eye, which a Hierophant might be trained in. I liked all the folklore about it, really interesting. I wonder how they came up with the idea it cures epilepsy?

    • Monica April 21, 2011 / 8:52 pm

      Funny I had the same thought about the Evil Eye, but really I don’t know nothing! πŸ™‚ I’m always fascinated and wonder “how did they know?”. I mean, really, it’s incredible when you realise how much the ‘ancients’ knew. Maybe it’s that beautiful aroma, so calming when you inhale it – who knows?

  4. Sharyn April 22, 2011 / 12:25 pm

    You are missing the forest for the Linden tree πŸ™‚
    YOU are the Hierophant helping your readers have a better and gentler understanding . I love the Haindl deck, one of my top 10.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, Sharyn

    • Monica April 22, 2011 / 5:48 pm

      He he… Thank you Sharyn. Always a pleasure to read your blog in the morning while I have my cup of tea. It’s turning into a ritual πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

