What to do, what not to do…

… that is the question! The staple of most card readings, advice on what to do or what not to do is a great way to know which way to steer your boat. In this instance, it pertains to my blog.

When I started this blog, I wasn’t really sure what direction to give it. Because they do come in all shapes and sizes, and I really enjoy reading about the whole world in blogs from different countries, different topics, and so on. It’s so fascinating, especially since, unlike TV, you choose the content, whether enlightening or depressing. I think with tarot one can get really personal, and at the other end of the scale, it can be simply informative. My initial goal was to write in order to help myself understand the cards better, yet I also wanted it to have a personal touch. So, what better way to know how to approach it than to draw two cards on it.

Universal Rider Waite Smith

On the left, the Page of Cups is in the position for what not to do. Ah, but I love daydreaming in my own head and exploring my imagination! Isn’t a blog a perfect avenue for this?! And yet, the message is, don’t go there. This is not the place for self-exploration and gazing too much into the world of feelings and dreams.

On the right, we have the mighty Hierophant. He holds the key of sacred knowledge, and knows how to impart it on the two people who have come to learn from him. He can guide them and explain the paths to travel in order to reach the sacred, yet the experience of knowing the sacred cannot be shown, or ever be fully explained – it is something one must experience for themselves. As the Buddhists say, “Those who know don’t tell, and those who tell don’t know“. This card is in the position for what to do.

So for this blog, the reading is very clear. It tells me the way to proceed is to share my own knowledge of the tarot, such as the cards, the decks, spreads, numerology, and so on. And it warns me against going on a prolonged reverie into my own world of dreams, feelings, and general escapism. I love how Tarot can guide one in and out of any situation or issue with distinct differentiation between paths to be chosen. The rest, is up to you…

13 thoughts on “What to do, what not to do…

  1. Zanna Starr April 16, 2011 / 11:18 am

    Wow, that is an amazing pair of cards in this situation, Monica. It does seem that you’re being given a clear message.

    • Monica April 16, 2011 / 11:03 pm

      Yes. Very clear. I love getting answers like these. Thank you.

  2. Magic Mentha April 16, 2011 / 11:24 am

    Great spread, m’dear!

    I will have to use this for some quick question answering on various topics.

    Hugs,
    MM

    • Monica April 16, 2011 / 11:04 pm

      🙂 Thank you! Short spreads are incredibly useful. I try and stick to maximum 3 cards when I need an answer straight away. And also, the RWS deck is the main one I use for such situations.

  3. Sharyn April 16, 2011 / 11:48 am

    Each year in January I choose something for a field of study, one year it was learning to blog. Oooo I thought soooo hard🙂 Finally in mid-summer I started making posts. Making them then deleting them. I just couldn’t find a focus although I am a wordsmith through and through. But once I hit on the idea of doing what I was already doing, only online it was hand and glove. I LOVE my blog time each morning.

    Re: the Journey home deck. Who is looking over the ‘remainder’?? I understood Catherine closed her site because all the decks were gone. Dwariko passed away recently.

    I did a group order of the small ones for various members at AT, saved a lot on shipping. I’m not a big believer in back-up decks and when they got so hard to find I let the mini go to a friend. And happy to do so, no problem. But when I decided to deep six the Deviant this week the Songs jumped into my hand and I was so pleased. Until I opened it and realized the mini is the only one with the book. Waaaaaaaa….Most books are useless waste of trees, but that one was so sweet. Oh well, I have the big deck and that pleases me so much.

    chatty…sorry🙂
    Sharyn

    • Monica April 16, 2011 / 11:07 pm

      I love seeing your blog every morning🙂 you have a good flow going and it’s great. I will never get over not having the Journey deck. I called the person who is looking after the remainder and he said he was going to check and get back to me but never did. I’m wondering if they are very selective as to whom they sell the remainder of the decks to – or maybe they just don’t want to sell them at all. Sigh.

  4. Digital Dame April 17, 2011 / 6:26 am

    What a lovely, clear message you got! I like the spread, very direct and to the point🙂

    Are you talking about the Songs for the Journey Home deck?

    • Monica April 17, 2011 / 8:30 am

      Yes, that’s the one. The one deck I would love to shuffle shuffle. Especially since I’m a kiwi🙂 Lots of deep sighs over here.

  5. Digital Dame April 17, 2011 / 9:41 am

    I managed to get in on a group order for those many years ago, via Arnell Ando on the TarotL list. Had to be back in the mid-1990s. It got me through some real rough patches when I was going through my divorce, really got my head turned around.

    • Monica April 17, 2011 / 8:13 pm

      Happy to hear you not only got one, but that it helped you so much too. It has a special energy this deck, and I look forward to the day I get to shuffle it.

  6. Digital Dame April 17, 2011 / 9:42 am

    Oh, meant to add, I’m very sorry to hear Dwariko passed away.😦

  7. Ditto April 20, 2011 / 12:25 pm

    Ah the Hierophant, my card for the month, I must admit it has been a challenge in a lot of ways. Joan Bunning gives the following actions to take when you get him in a reading: get educated; finding/following your belief system; identifying with a group… so far so good, now the hard one for me, conforming! Following the rules; being part of the Establishment; doing what’s expected; taking an orthodox approach; staying within conventional bounds; fitting in. Sigh, I have been trying.

    • Monica April 20, 2011 / 4:30 pm

      Hi Paula🙂 a whole month of tarot education sounds great to me😉 as for conforming, well, yes, that’s not so great – but if you find the right group, being part of it is not a difficulty. I think the Hierophant can get a negative reaction (like the Emperor) in tarot; there’s just that stuffy church image that comes to mind one cannot shake, yet at the same time I love it when he comes up with regards to learning and getting educated – my favourite things in life. The month is nearly over though, another week or so to get friendly with him!

Leave a Reply

