Book Review: The Spirit of Herbs


Many thanks to my friend Katherine for lending me the book for the Herbal Tarot deck. From what I’ve seen so far, I’d say it’s worthwhile to wait a while and save some money and get the whole tarot pack, as the book is really good. To summarise, for each card (both Major and Minor Arcana), the book provides in depth information for: the tarot card, the herb associated with it, it’s medicinal properties, the dose/preparation, keywords, an affirmation, and suggested herbal allies.I include below a scan for the High Priestess, so you get an idea. Quite a lot, really! Apologies for the poor quality of the scans – if you click on the pictures they will enlarge and you can read the text.

 

Click on the image to enlarge


But wait, there’s more! There is a full glossary of terms for those of us who might wonder what a diaphoretic or astringent is, comprehensive Medicine Wheel Spreads, a full bibliography, and so on. Well worth saving for if you are into herbs or planning to study herbalism.

 

18 thoughts on “Book Review: The Spirit of Herbs

  1. Digital Dame April 9, 2011 / 6:19 am

    Wow, that’s impressive. I might pick it up just for the book!

  2. submerina April 9, 2011 / 2:13 pm

    At $142, I think I’ll wait šŸ˜€ or is there some place where you can get the book for a more realistic price and I’m just missing it? Didn’t see it available as a set when I ordered my deck (or I definitely would have got it like that!)

    • Monica April 9, 2011 / 6:41 pm

      Yes I probably would have waited a while and got both the book and the cards as a set. Oh well. I’ll still be doing tarot in 50 years’ time so I can wait a bit longer and get the book when I settle down šŸ™‚

    • Monica April 9, 2011 / 6:40 pm

      Hmmm interesting. I can’t see where the listing states it includes the book? But if it does, hey I think it’s worth it šŸ™‚

      • Digital Dame April 10, 2011 / 3:14 am

        It’s down under “Detailed item info” then the “Publisher’s Note”. I may send a question to the seller just to confirm. I kind of have my doubts for that price, though. I think they may have just copied the verbiage from someplace else.

      • Digital Dame April 11, 2011 / 5:52 am

        Feh, turned out it is just the cards, heard back from the seller this morning.

      • Monica April 11, 2011 / 10:01 am

        šŸ˜¦ Oh well… Maybe you’ll get lucky like my friend who just happened to see it in a local listing. I bet the person who sold her the set had no clue of its real value.

  3. woley April 11, 2011 / 9:24 am

    I’ve got a copy of the deck that was a demo with holes punched through it in a store that has since closed. I bought the book after getting the deck.

    These prices are silly, aren’t they? I am still trying to hunt up the book to the Tarot of Northern Shadows–I got the deck for that in a demo version with holes from the same shop–I need a book. Maddeningly unavailable except for $$$$.

    At least you can buy a book on herbs and muddle through with this tarot. Not the case with the Northern Shadows deck. That experience made me always buy sets so that I had the book, just in case.

    • Monica April 11, 2011 / 9:57 am

      Yes makes me wonder whether I’ll start buying sets from now on…. But as you say, I can learn about herbs from other books since herbalism is now so much more popular and there are courses available too. I haven’t come across the Northern Shadows deck but if I do I’ll save some good dollars and get a set.

  4. Prince Lenormand April 11, 2011 / 10:37 am

    I was looking at this card deck just yesterday, in a shop. I was interested in the herbs, since I am making my own deck based around the symbolism of plants, trees and flowers. I will keep an eye out for the book. The pack I saw was just the pack. I really like the art work.

    PL

    • Monica April 13, 2011 / 9:29 am

      Prince Lenormand, it is great to hear you like the artwork (personally as previously mentioned I am a bit undecided on the artwork itself). But it is a good deck if you are into herbalism. And I really, really look forward to seeing your tarot work – is it on display anywhere online? Please let us know šŸ™‚

  5. Janet Boyer April 13, 2011 / 1:27 am

    Great review! I had no idea there was a book for this deck! (Have it, but haven’t opened it yet). Now I want it! :oD

    • Monica April 13, 2011 / 9:33 am

      I am sure it will come your way sooner or later, Janet. This was a lazy person’s review since I just scanned a couple of pages (but I thought it will give people a real taste of what to expect). All I can say is, “the book is fantastic!”. šŸ™‚ Never would have thought of associating the peony with the High Priestess, it’s so refreshing, and informative. Enjoy!

  6. Janet Boyer April 13, 2011 / 9:53 am

    A “lazy person’s review” is all I need to want more, more, more! LOL Seriously, some books and decks are just so great that all you can say is “refreshing” and “informative”. You did good! ;o)

    • Monica April 13, 2011 / 10:51 pm

      Thank you. Looks really good and from what I can see the cards have a good structure to them, so it will make a good reading deck – not that it is what you are after necessarily, but it helps. Only about 50 more to go šŸ™‚

  7. Prince Lenormand April 15, 2011 / 12:37 am

    Thanks Monica. That means a lot to me.
    Yes, many to go. I am taking my time, so it fits in with stuff and so I don’t lose momentum.
    PL

Leave a Reply

