A spread on tarot reading with Legend: The Arthurian Tarot

Aeclectic Tarot Spread

The spread above is from the Aeclectic Tarot Spreads eBook, which I highly recommend. There is a variety of spreads on all sorts of different topics, most with a different point of view and some quirky ones too.

I am using the above spread to get acquainted with the new Legend: the Arthurian Tarot by Anna-Marie Ferguson. I have a soft spot for mythology, romanticism, and for fantasy artwork, and I connected with this deck straight away, like an old friend. So the above spread is perfect for using on new tarot decks, especially ones with a particular theme.

Click on the image to enlarge

1. What I already do well: The Magician – Merlin

This tells me I am good at actively creating my tarot path and manifesting the direction I want to go in. It’s about achieving mastery in knowing and interpreting the cards, and taking charge of my destiny through my dedicated study of tarot and other associated occult studies. I take it as a very positive card – the future of my tarot work is what I make it, and I definitely have the ability to do so.

The LWB states “Skill and wisdom. Imagination and versatility. Creativity and showmanship. The noble use of one’s talents. Ingenuity and the power of influence. Competence and diplomacy. Heightened psychic abilities. Effectively directing one’s own life.

2. What I need to work on: The Hierophant – Taliesin

I need to learn to express myself, to better communicate verbally my inner knowledge of tarot to those seeking tarot readings with me. I do actually find this to be my biggest challenge. I know intuitively what the cards mean when I do a spread, but since I cannot communicate this telepathically with the querent, I must learn to communicate in words what I know. This could also indicate being part of a group or organisation with similar interests, and suggests it is something I should aim on joining, rather than working alone on my own (at present I do meet up with the Aotearoa Tarot Guild on a monthly basis, but once I am settled later on in the year, I will look to get more active in the tarot community in Melbourne). And finally, this card suggests I need to keep working on my education. At just under 4 years of tarot learning and experience, I am a neophyte, really. Which is great, because as a Sagittarian I can tell you, I love to keep on learning 🙂

3. External resources for improving: 9 of Cups – The Healing of the Maimed King

What an apt card, and also an auspicious card. This tells me there are some extremely beneficial external resources for improving, and could well do with my own challenges in communicating as I mentioned above. The ability to speak is something that I am working on – because it is a lot more than being able to just interpret a card. Having a voice is a struggle for those who have had their sense of self violated by others, and healing this is about finding my own authentic voice. The Healing mentioned on the card is what struck me first – this card lets me know healing is not only available to me, but it is possible. The actual picture reminds me of someone working on a person energetically – like in Reiki, or any form of energy healing work.

4. Internal approaches for improving: 8 of Shields – Wayland

Self study and reflection is the inner approach for improving. The 8 of Shields (Pentacles) is the card of the apprentice in tarot. Getting the details right, with a focus on continuing my tarot education. The LWB notes it is about “Employment. Commissions and craftmanship. The positive use of one’s talents. Learning a new skill or trade. Enjoying one’s work and the rewards it brings.” Given the position this card is in – internal approaches – I would say it’s more about the last sentence, enjoying my work and study. Practice makes perfect.

5. Overall advice: Page of Spears – The Hare

A very original way of seeing the Pages in Tarot. Personally, the hare speaks to me of a playful nature, abundance and fertility, and reminds me of the Queen of Pentacles in RWS. I take it as a good omen in the overall advice. LWB interpretations:

An enthusiastic young supporter. The arrival of good news. Stimulating conversation. Intellectual development.”

As a social creature, the totem hare symbolizes play, an awaking cultural sense, and enjoyable interaction with the community.

 

 

7 thoughts on “A spread on tarot reading with Legend: The Arthurian Tarot

  1. Digital Dame April 2, 2011 / 3:19 pm

    I like the bit about the final card saying “a social creature”. That seems like a good trait for someone who interacts a lot with people, doing readings 🙂

    I’m with you on liking to keep learning. It’s great to find something that will keep challenging you will always excite you.

  2. Monica April 2, 2011 / 4:38 pm

    It is a beautiful experience, finding what you love to pursue. Even if I do not actually support myself from tarot work – at least, not at present! But that’s a noble dream to have, working as a tarot reader/consultant. So it was a very good spread for me. I should have said, this deck is not new on the market – but it is new for me 🙂 I have to use up my loyalty card at the local metaphysical shop – what a chore!!

  3. Zanna Starr April 2, 2011 / 4:43 pm

    One of my favorite decks! I really like the Pages. You drew some powerful cards!

    • Monica April 2, 2011 / 6:08 pm

      I like the Pages too. Different and insightful. I’ll be working a bit with this deck. A bit disappointed the cards are so slim, but I don’t think I’ll ever find the perfect deck.

      • Digital Dame April 3, 2011 / 5:43 am

        I feel the same way. I don’t think we’ll ever find the perfect deck created by someone else. We’d each have to make our own to have our own perfect deck. I have this one, but have rarely used it. I love the color palette, though, and the watercolors.

  4. Magic Mentha April 2, 2011 / 5:41 pm

    Neat spread. I got the Hierophant as external resources for improving. So maybe to learn from a teacher? Or some other institution. Anyway, thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • Monica April 2, 2011 / 6:11 pm

      Yes in your spread the Hierophant would be learning from a teacher, or within an organised institution like a tarot guild or similar. It’s a great thing to do, if you can find something like that in your area – guaranteed you’ll meet some interesting people 🙂

Leave a Reply

