The Herbal Tarot Review

Herbal Tarot - extra card and card back design

The Herbal Tarot is a joint creation between Herbalist Michael Tierra, and artist Candis Cantin. I got this deck as a standard pack (no book) online, and it seems it has been reprinted, hence the current affordable prices for it – however note that the original first edition set – cards and book – can be quite pricey. I do not have the accompanying book for it which is a shame as I’ve heard it is rich in knowledge and herbal lore, but you can get them online. Amazon sells a few second-hand but they are not cheap.

I’m starting to warm up to this deck – first impressions were lukewarm, but now that I’ve played with it a few times I can see I’ll be keeping it as part of my collection. For anyone interested in herbalism, it’s a great aid to have, even if you don’t read tarot as such. I’m a big fan of herbs so I’ll be perusing this quite a bit. In saying that, I do think the pictures are average (perhaps I’ve been spoiled by Baba Studio and their works of art?). I think it’s the colouring – a bit too strong or in shades that I don’t resonate with. The images follow the Rider Waite Smith theme, with a few minor deviations – for example where there are no people included in some pictures, such as 7 of Swords and 10 of Cups.

The herbal associations are well linked – for example, The Moon is associated with Lemon Balm, and the little white book (LWB) states “Lemon balm is calming and relaxing, and counteracts moodiness and melancholy. Diaphoretic, cooling, it is used as a tea to induce sweating and treat colds and reduce fevers. (Pisces, ruled by Neptune).” Similarly, Suspended Person (The Hanged Man) is associated with Kelp and I love this version of the card.

Note the disclaimer for this deck – it is not intended to diagnose or prescribe treatment for disease or injury.

 

 
The LWB is actually very good, with descriptions of both the herb use, its astrological correspondence, and divinatory meanings. Published by US Games, the card stock is very good, similar to Paulina and Sun and Moon – solid and feels more organic than laminate (7 by 12 cm).

4 thoughts on “The Herbal Tarot Review

  1. Zanna Starr April 2, 2011 / 4:15 am

    Thanks for this excellent review, Monica! I am tempted to get this deck, if only for the information about the herbs that you described. Okay. I would probably read with it, too.🙂

    • Monica April 2, 2011 / 10:28 am

      I’m happy you’ve found it interesting – I thought given how old the deck is most would know all about it. I hope you have fun with it. It’s great for learning about herbs, though if you are into herbalism I think getting the book would really help.

  2. Digital Dame April 2, 2011 / 6:36 am

    Wow, that guy on the Lovers card is so 70s! LOL The illustrator is clearly better at drawing flora than people, but the herbs seem well done and recognizable. I think the color that bugs me is too much yellow. I find too much of it off-putting if it’s too bright.

    If you’re interested in the book, try checking Bookfinder.com. It searches lots of sources, not just Amazon. Maybe someone else will have one cheaper.

    • Monica April 2, 2011 / 10:31 am

      Ha ha yes this deck does take one back to the 70’s. The 10 of Cups is Marijuana🙂 It’s the particular shade of yellow that I can’t get over. I also read with the Llewellyn which has a lot of yellow too, but it’s a soft and warm shade that I love. Thanks for the online tip, if I wasn’t moving I’d be getting the book as well.

Leave a Reply

