Farewells

Anna K Tarot: The Hanged Man, 2 of Cups, 10 of Wands

Today’s cards reflect what me and my partner are feeling and going through. Early this morning I dropped him off at the airport, he is now in Melbourne figuring out the thousand details that go into moving your whole life to another place.

In this reading, I am the Hanged Man – not because I assigned the card places any particular meaning, instead I intuitively knew that the card to the left of the middle card (2 of cups) on the side of the woman represents me, and the card on the right is my partner. The 2 of Cups, of course, being the quintessential card for love and relationships (I think even more than The Lovers). The Hanged Man in the Anna K Tarot is not very happy – left out in the rain, suspended upside down, nothing to do but wait. Anna writes “He represents stagnation, being gridlocked, being passive and being at the mercy of an oppressive situation.” The card for my partner isn’t much better either. 10 of Wands is another card of oppression and burdens, of being overwhelmed. Even though Melbourne is a great place to move to, there are always challenges when setting off by yourself, and I know he has been feeling the stress of trying to get everything sorted.

So for the next couple of months I’ll be hanging in the rain and making the most of my new world view. Actually it will be all about saying my goodbyes and preparing to move on – as reflected in the last card underneath the deck, 8 of Cups. I’m hoping for a mild autumn, nourishing hot food and a good de-cluttering all-round.

Arohanui,

Monica

4 thoughts on “Farewells

  1. Shaheen Miro March 24, 2011 / 6:32 am

    I love the honesty in this. You really allowed us to feel what you were intuitively feeling in the cards. You have some wonderful post and I really enjoy reading them. I especially like how you use teas with your readings…but not in the traditional sense of reading tea leaves… which I love to do. I look forward to reading more and I wish you the best of luck with your move.

    All the best,
    Shaheen

    • Monica March 24, 2011 / 10:49 am

      Thank you Shaheen. It was a little bleak yesterday, but I know it won’t last long. I love tea 🙂 and I really want to learn more about it, and one day it the name just ‘manifested’ while I was gazing at a teacup in the middle of a tarot reading… And I don’t read tea leaves even!

  2. Digital Dame March 24, 2011 / 6:35 am

    Bleah, I hate moving 😦 But, it looks like your SO is taking most of the burden on himself, you seem to be in a holding pattern. I’ll be happy for you both when you’re all settled in and have things back to a more normal routine 🙂

    Love this deck, I have the second edition as well.

    • Monica March 24, 2011 / 10:53 am

      Your thoughts are very kind and welcome. Yes in a way I have an easier time – when I arrive in Melbourne most things will have been taken care of. We talked last night and it’s going well, seems like there is lots happening in Melbourne. I think the Anna K is a really good reading deck, people’s expressions speak volumes.

Leave a Reply

