Tea break

This week I am house-sitting and looking after 7 very well-mannered chickens. I am also enjoying a nice collection of teaware, and sticking to my old favourites: nettle and raspberry leaf. For anyone suffering from rheumatism, gout, skin irritations or wanting to boost iron levels, nettle tea is invaluable – two to three cups a day is recommended. Steep it for about 20 minutes, just the right amount of time for a tarot set up: clear the table, light a candle, some incense, choose the deck, and relax. Autumn is here but the days are still sunny and very hot, so I’m going with a summer theme, rich colours and blooming flowers all over the tea set make a great start to the day.

Dried raspberry leaf and nettle

Recommendations for nettle tea drinking are from On Tea and Healthy Living by Penelope Sach.

4 thoughts on “Tea break

  1. Serenity March 17, 2011 / 11:57 am

    Hi!

    I stumbled across your blog from I-don’t-remember-where, and am really enjoying it. I love the smell of tea, but the taste always seems to leave me wanting…reading this has me deciding to give more varieties a try!

    Also, I enjoy the spreads you’ve mentioned here. I’m off to try them w/ my 2nd edition Pearls of Wisdom deck.🙂

    Bright Blessings,
    Serenity🙂

    • Monica March 17, 2011 / 1:20 pm

      Hi Serenity – it’s lovely to see people reading and enjoying my wee bloggie🙂 Nettle tea is definitely bland! I for one am used to it and love it on its own, but if you want you can add peppermint, or chamomile if you want something more relaxing – basically however you want to enhance it. Thanks for reading and commenting.

  2. Digital Dame March 17, 2011 / 12:22 pm

    I sometimes wonder if I need more iron. I’ll have to try this. Do you buy it pre-blended, or blend your own nettle and rosemary?

    • Monica March 17, 2011 / 1:24 pm

      Hello DD, I buy separate herbs from the organic store, and blend them depending on how I feel. Loose leaf is always best, though one can now get nettle in little tea bags I still reckon the best taste is loose leaf in a teapot. I should have mentioned raspberry leaf is excellent for women’s health, uterine and PMS issues. But I am not a qualified herbalist so I’m being a little careful and referencing any health “advice”. In saying that, my grandmother wasn’t a qualified anything and she knew what to use when. Off to enjoy a cuppa🙂

Leave a Reply

