Moving on…

Inspired by Submerina and Magic Mentha‘s posts on happiness, I eagerly got out my new Herbal Tarot and asked what would make me really happy, drawing three cards. The first thing that came to mind seeing the above was “Time for a new start”. Two aces on either side of 6 of Swords – new beginnings are certainly desired. And I agree, at the moment it seems like my travel plans, only two months away, actually seem like aeons away, and I’m getting twitchy. The Ace of Swords also indicates some mental clarity wouldn’t go amiss either. I got this deck today, and I thought I’d like it a lot more to be honest. I think the pictures could be a little more descriptive, and quite a few cards do not have people in them which means I revert to the RWS system mentally to read them. I’ll be posting a full review over the coming week if anyone is interested.

Arohanui,
Monica

 

4 thoughts on “Moving on…

  1. Magic Mentha March 18, 2011 / 5:32 am

    Good luck! Happy St. Patty’s Day.

    I know what you mean about feeling anxious/twitchy to move onto a new phase. It definitely is the creeping and waiting that gets you.

    I was actually going to say that I really like this deck visually. It is simple but the hint of herbal earthiness is refreshing. I also like the photo a lot with the pretty patterned background.

    It is hard to know how much we’ll like a deck until we use it. Maybe it’ll appeal to you later. Anyway…it seems everything is coming up aces! Enjoy the quiet for now and in the meantime, do some things that you enjoy now that you may not be able to do as much of later in your new locale?

    Hugs,
    MM

    • Monica March 18, 2011 / 11:57 am

      Thank you! Well you know what it’s like with tarot decks, everyone has their own style. It’s ok for now, maybe it will grow on me. I’m going to try and get as many beach and bush walks as I can until I go – something I will definitely miss! xx

  2. Digital Dame March 18, 2011 / 8:38 am

    Sorry it’s not quite what you were hoping for. I can’t say it appeals to me much. I find myself drawn back more and more to the ol’ Rider-Waite-Smith these days. So many of the artsy decks that, while beautiful to look at, just leave me stranded in a reading. The art on this one is somewhat reminiscent of the Morgan-Greer. To me, just adding on the herbs or plant to the cards is more gimmicky than useful, but I don’t know that much about plants like you do.

    • Monica March 18, 2011 / 11:59 am

      Yes I know what you mean. I won’t be giving it away just yet though, I think I’ll keep it for a good while and see how I go. The RWS is definitely the stable/reliable one I use when I need a straight up answer fast. I don’t have the Morgan Greer but it’s also on my wish list – once I’m in Melbourne I’ll be updating my collection pretty fast🙂

Leave a Reply

