Astrology course musings

A small yet glorious announcement: I start my astrology class today! Wooohoo! This is a 12 week course with Fern Mercier and I am totally looking forward to it, I have my books, pens and notebook sorted (one absolutely Must have the right stationery for occult studies). I did a 3 card spread using the Vanessa Tarot on doing this course, here is what came up:

Astrology class reading

The Ace of Cups tells me this will be emotionally fulfilling, a great start towards studying something that I not only find deeply satisfying, but I will be joined by close friends and it will be enriching and nourishing those bonds. I checked the LWB that came with the deck for the Moon card, and it says “a modern lady is ready to consume ancient mysteries“. Oh boy am I ever!! I won’t be quite turning up with a fork in my hand, but I’ll definitely consume all the knowledge that Fern will graciously offer🙂 And The Fool? It’s another card for starting a journey, for new beginnings – note the road going off into the distant Sun – full of promise and adventure.

Chart for Tarot in a Teacup

Just to kick things off, I checked out the chart for my blog last week – I nearly fainted when I saw that Mercury, planet of communication, is in its detriment in Sagittarius! And it’s retrograde!! And it’s the only planet in a fire sign in the whole chart!!! Aaaargh! Oh well, I’m getting over it, but still…

Regardless, I’m too excited now to contemplate the detriment of Mercury! I’m off to an astrology class and some serious pondering of the celestial heavens🙂

8 thoughts on “Astrology course musings

  1. Tamsin March 9, 2011 / 10:36 pm

    Aaahhh, I love this deck! You’re looking very much at home cruising that star filled night sky on your cloud there. Couldn’t be more apt really😉

    • Monica March 10, 2011 / 9:28 am

      Thank you Tamsin🙂 Yes pretty neat getting my favourite Ace. Oooops, there are no favourites, right?!! Off to buy lots of coloured pens now.

  2. Helen March 10, 2011 / 12:18 am

    Enjoy the course! I know very little about astrology and I also don’t know my time of birth which limits its use for me personally.😦

    • Monica March 10, 2011 / 9:27 am

      Hi Helen, thank you! Even if you don’t know your time of birth you can still learn a lot from it, so don’t feel discouraged. I have a similar problem where I only now an approximate time, but that’s how it is. I’ll have it figured one of these days😉

      • Helen March 10, 2011 / 8:11 pm

        Let me know if you need a guinea pig.😉

  3. Digital Dame March 10, 2011 / 5:49 am

    Have fun with that! Astrology makes my head spin, WAAAAY too much math for me😉

    • Monica March 10, 2011 / 9:25 am

      Thank you! Well, can I say there is no math in this one🙂 It’s all about getting the basics right, the elements, planets etc. I think unless you want to know how to draw your own chart, there is no tricky maths. Awesome!

  4. Magic Mentha March 12, 2011 / 1:01 am

    How lovely! Congrats on embarking on your astrology course. I wish I was more disciplined lately or less stressed, or something. Haha! One of these days I’ll do some more official astrology training! I hope it is great for you. The reading looks like it will be.

    Hugs,
    MM

Leave a Reply

