Paulina Tarot Review

Welcome to the fantastical, the incredulous, the whimsical and delicate fairy land world of the Paulina Tarot. Spent too much time in adult land? Life weighing on the serious side a bit much? Or perhaps you would just like to delight your eyes, to touch again upon childhood fantasies, to savour a unique and beautifully crafted work of art. I’d say this deck is truly delightful and original. Each card is filled with incredible detail, one more striking than the other.

There are creatures from lands one perhaps has dreamt of, snails with wings, flowers that speak, unicorns, penguins, and cats with spiral tails. The gardens are lush with imagination and dripping with fruits of wonder. This is the creation of artist Paulina Cassidy, whose affinity with New Orleans is evident in the flair and costumes adorning each character. The deck follows the Rider Waite Smith tradition, with a few exceptions which are not that different in their overall message.

Published by US Games, it comes in the standard box and the cards measure 12cm by 7cm. Two notes about this publication: the little white book is very good, with both upright and reversed meanings given for all cards, and a Celtic Cross given at the back; and the cards are thicker than usual, and very sturdy/durable.

There seems to be a very light laminate feel to them, but overall I’d say they have a more organic (almost cardboard) touch to them. A few people have noted they are difficult to “break in” and quite stiff, personally I don’t find this to be an issue. Hard to please everyone, eh?!!

So who wouldn’t like this deck? If you like a well-structured deck, this may not be the one for you. If you like a lot of symbols, definite colour blocks with boundaries and clear-cut, well-defined images, reading with this deck will be a challenge. There is a lot of detail in these cards, and for some it may just be too nice and pretty for readings.

That aside, I hope readers try this deck, it certainly does have a voice and the messages come through in every reading – though one may spend quite some time daydreaming through each card and going for a wonder through its rich and colourful world.

11 thoughts on “Paulina Tarot Review

  1. Magic Mentha February 26, 2011 / 6:34 pm

    This is a lovely deck with a unique and feminine yet whimsical personality. I liked it a lot but then sold it. I am not sure why–maybe it just wasn’t quite right for me at the time, but it is definitely worthwhile. I just go through phases when it comes to decks. Buy, purge. 🙂 I met a reader who worked exclusively with this deck–so much so that she owned 2-3 copies of it!

    • Monica February 26, 2011 / 9:36 pm

      It’s a really neat deck. I can see why it’s not for everyone though, yet at the same time I’ve had some really good readings with it. She also has a second tarot deck out just recently, it’s on her website (I’m VERY tempted!)

  2. Sharyn February 27, 2011 / 12:29 pm

    I have a stack of decks higher than me beside my desk, I’m doing a big clear out…I’ve had the Paulina in my hands three times today and keep putting it back in the drawer. I think more because of how long it took Stephanie to do each and every one of those chock-full cards 🙂 It really is a lovely deck.

    Happy reading, and thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • Monica February 27, 2011 / 9:19 pm

      Thank you! I don’t yet have that many decks, but it’s getting there 🙂 Looking forward to seeing images from your collection on your blog. Monica

    • Share Rashchupkina June 4, 2012 / 5:56 pm

      Just a mention, the artist is Paulina Cassidy…hence, well, the name Paulina Tarot ; ) You mentioned her name as being Stephanie! Perhaps thinking of the Shadowscapes Tarot?

  3. Digital Dame March 1, 2011 / 10:37 am

    I really like the overall muted palette of this deck. I don’t have this one yet, incredibly, but would like to get it. I was following along as she was working on it, and was really looking forward to its release, but then for some reason I didn’t get it. Mood swings, what can I say? 😉 I like what I’ve seen of her Joie de Vivre Tarot so far, has it been released? I didn’t think it was due out for awhile yet.

  4. Monica March 1, 2011 / 1:58 pm

    It’s a wonderful deck and I’d say you *need* a copy 🙂 I can’t find any on amazon, but a little bird told me the Book Depository has some, and depending on where you live, it’s free shipping. The Joie de Vivre is finished but it will take a few months to sort out publishing, so not yet. Soon, soon.

  5. Digital Dame March 1, 2011 / 5:22 pm

    I’ve been watching a couple sellers on EBay who are offering the Paulina Tarot for a reasonable amount ($12.20US).

    Yes, I checked her site today after I left my last comment 😉 and saw the JdV is done, but as you said it’ll be awhile before it’s printed up and ready to go. I also noticed a curious thing, and I’m not sure if it’s deliberate for some reason I don’t understand, or just a spelling error? On the Star card the subtitle is “Rejuvination”. I wondered about e-mailing her and asking, or if the publisher will notice and ask, or.. ? I dunno. I might say something on her Facebook page.

  6. Monica March 1, 2011 / 8:51 pm

    Hmmm indeed very strange. It may be deliberate, but I’m sure if you ask she’ll clarify it. What makes me say it’s deliberate is that it’s spelt like that twice on the page – once on the card itself and the second time underneath the Star title on the page displaying the card. Have fun getting one more deck for your collection 😉

  7. woley March 23, 2011 / 4:22 am

    I’ve had this on and off my wish list but still haven’t bought it. I’m interested in her newer deck the Joie de Vivre Tarot, so I might get that.

    Neither one of them really zings me, so not sure.

    • Monica March 23, 2011 / 8:26 am

      I think her Joie de Vivre deck may be better for readings – the drawings seem more focused. But I have read with the Paulina and it’s been good for me. As I noted in the review though, I totally get why some would not read with it. If in doubt… draw a card! 🙂

Leave a Reply

