Garden Tarot Spread

 

Flax flowers

An anonymous text from the Tradition says that, in life, each person can take one of two attitudes: to build or to plant. The builders might take years over their tasks, but one day, they finish what they’re doing. Then they find they’re hemmed in by their own walls. Life loses its meaning when the building stops.
Then there are those who plant. They endure storms and all the many vicissitudes of the seasons, and they rarely rest. But, unlike a building, a garden never stops growing. And while it requires the gardener’s constant attention, it also allows life for the gardener to be a great adventure.
Gardeners always recognise each other, because they know that in the history of each plant lies the growth of the whole World.

from Brida by Paulo Coelho

In keeping with the current theme of creating tarot spreads from books that have inspired me, I quote above one of my favourite all-time paragraphs from Paulo Coelho’s Brida. The last line always gives me goosebumps, since I am a gardener, and I love to garden, both literally and metaphorically. The World card makes its presence in the last line, and I have yet to come across another literary description so apt for this card. What usually happens when I read something that resonates with me, is that I actually feel what the author is saying. I know what he is saying, often intuitively before logically (hey, I am a fire sign after all). I get it, but if you asked me to explain it, I hardly could.

With the above quote, I knew there were questions lurking in there that would surface, and eventually I got the following spread:

1. Garden theme (what my garden is all about)
2. Garden work (what work I have to do to nourish my garden)
3. Garden path (what is the purpose of my garden)
4. Garden flowers (how the garden graces the world)
5. Garden fruits (what are the fruits of my garden work)
6. Garden seeds (what I should sow in the near future)
7. Gardener (significator)

This spread is done with the first 6 cards laid out in a circle, and the 7th for the significator in the middle. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Garden Tarot Spread

  1. Magic Mentha February 26, 2011 / 6:35 pm

    I’m going to try this spread out right now! I love it. Great pre-spring spread. Also, I wanted to say that I really love the name of your blog and your banner. I love the aerial view of all the different cards and tea.๐Ÿ™‚

    • Monica February 26, 2011 / 9:40 pm

      Hello and thank you! I go through big phases of designing spreads. My favourite is to go through my book collection and do spreads on books or themes and messages from the books I have๐Ÿ™‚ It took a bit of work to get the banner right, my partner took the photo, I just provided the cards and the tea๐Ÿ˜‰ I have a few decks and couldn’t actually fit a card from every one in, but it’s close enough.

Leave a Reply

