Tarot of the Spirit

The Fool from Tarot of the Spirit

Tarot of the Spirit is a rich and inspiring tarot deck, a personal journey on the spiritual path through stunning artwork by its creator, Joyce Eakins. The more I work with this deck, the more it reveals itself, and life, to me. It is the sort of deck one takes its time with, not least because the symbology and artwork are infused with deep meaning in their beautiful depiction. Working with this deck is like being in a garden of wonders that is in full bloom, where mystery penetrates reality and you feel the cosmic heartbeat. I may sound a little poetic, but it’s how I feel when I sit down for a reading and shuffle this deck.

The deck comprises of 79 cards – the creator has added one extra card titled the Mystery Card – and is based on the Qabalah Mystery School. The Minor Arcana cards have titles and astrological symbols, with the elements renamed Earth (Pentacles), Water (Cups), Fire (Wands) and Wind (Swords). For example, 6 of Pentacles becomes Six of Earth (top of the card), and its title is Beauty (bottom of the card), with astrological glyphs Moon and Taurus. Similarly, 7 of Swords becomes Seven of Wind, titled Many Tongues, with astrological glyphs Moon and Aquarius. I generally do not like titled cards, but in this instance the titles help pull together the symbology of the card and give it another layer, which is very helpful when dealing with a Minor Arcana that is very abstract.

The Court Cards are also renamed in this deck: Mother (Queen), Father (King), Brother (Knight), and Sister (Page).

Tarot of the Spirit

Shown above, from left to right are The Empress, The Devil, The Universe, Mystery Card, One of Wind – Dawn and Earth Sister.

The Star from Tarot of the Spirit

There is an excellent companion book to this deck,  written by Pamela Eakins, Joyce’s daughter. I highly recommend you get the book if you intend to purchase the deck. It contains a wealth of information about the deck, as well as information on numerology, sacred geometry, tarot spreads, tarot history and the relationship between Tarot and the Qabalistic Tree of Life. Each Minor Arcana card has its Divinatory Meaning and Interpretation section, with a separate paragraph on the card symbology, and a meditation poem included. All of these are presented for the Major Arcana as well, the only difference being the amazing wealth of information that is expanded upon for each card, as well as an addition for its Esoteric Qualities.

The deck is published by US Games Systems (published 1992), and the cardstock is very thin, but well laminated, so I expect they will last a long time. The cards are standard size, 12cm by 7cm.

“Tarot of the Spirit is a book of change. An oracle from ancient and future days, it teaches not only how to participate with cosmological transformation, but how to stabilize within the heart of that holy essence which encourages, provides, and sustains at all times. As we discover that sanctuary of Love that thrives in the core of our being, we come to realize the nature of our immortality as well as the nature of our own ability to love. As we inhibit that sanctum sanctorum, as we begin to live within the sure foundation of eternal being, liberated from false and destructive views of death, we, as the Wind Sister says, become free to walk a path of genuine authenticity.

Tarot of the Spirit is a treasure map of the human psyche. It details the cosmology of human consciousness within the magical context of cosmologic consciousness. It helps us understand and describe our emotions, find meaning, establish purpose, and organize the story of our personal lives as well as the story of our species.” Pamela Eakins, Tarot of the Spirit (1992).

2 thoughts on “Tarot of the Spirit

  1. Jason February 20, 2011 / 2:09 pm

    I shouldn’t have visited here, I can see you might enable me to purchase decks I don’t need.🙂 I do only buy decks I really want to work with, and know that I will read with. But seeing these pictures tempts my inner collector.

    “the cardstock is very thin, but well laminated”

    Is it very plastic-y like other USG decks nowadays? I have the Archeon which has the heaviest laminate of any I own — more plastic than pasteboard. It also came with an extremely strong chemical odor, which miraculously seems to have faded sometime in the year since I last opened its box; for which I am grateful. This smell was enough to deter me from purchasing other currently produced USG decks.

    • Monica February 20, 2011 / 7:02 pm

      The “inner collector” strikes again🙂 It is a beautiful deck, although I haven’t used it for readings other than my own, which I do daily so it has been useful (see how easily I justified owning it). It is unfortunately very plastic-y. I don’t have the Archeon, though I have played with the Alchemical Tarot and it reminds me of that one, very slippery, and very thin cardstock – no chemical odor though! I have to say it seems I’m one of the very few people who approves of the switch to thicker cardtock and less laminate from USG (think Paulina and Sun & Moon Tarot).

Leave a Reply

